2021 World Photographic Cup Awards: Down Under on Top!

2021 World Photographic Cup Awards: Down Under on Top!

April 19, 2021
3 min read

WPC, World Photographic Cup, the only competition that brings together the worldwide photography community in an Olympics-style competition…online for its 8th announcement ceremony, again from Rome, Italy, for celebrating the best of the best in professional photography worldwide.

With a resounding exploit of 3 medals and 3 top finishes, Team Australia got the 2021Cup. Defending Champion, Team Brazil, on the second spot, followed by Canada and Spain, tied on the third place on the podium.

The other teams on the Top 10 list are Russia (5th place), Finland and U.S. (6th place), Greece (8th), Plilippines (9th) and Poland (10th).

Individual gold medals went to Szymon Świętochowski, Team Poland (Commercial photography); Diamantino Jesus, Team Portugal (Illustration); Hendro Soetrisno, Team United States (Nature); Antti Karppinen, Team Finland (Portrait); Anyelo García, Team Guatemala (Reportage), and Jonathan Hevia, Team Spain (Wedding).

See the full individual results in the six categories of the competition at the gallery section (and listed below) and our 3D Virtual Galleries here.

This is Team Australia’s second World Cup. They won it two years ago, joining Portugal and the U.S. as the only teams to win it more than once.

“Some may have thought we would cancel the World Photographic Cup this year – said WPC CEO Giuseppe Scozzi, opening the ceremony – At the contrary, we had a record number of 38 entries!  Unfortunately, we have to present the awards virtually once again, but we do plan to host an awards ceremony that includes all of our 2020 and 2021 winners in Rome, finally in person, on the spring of 2022.”

“For the last year the world has been gray and dreary – added WPC Committee Member Anna Kaleva Tsagklas on her tribute to photography – But the fog is starting to lift, and when it does, the world will crave the color and life that you give it. Because … photography is important to our world.”

The WPC Governing Committee congratulates all 18 medallists, the 60 finalists (coming form 27 different nations), the 38 Best of Nation awarded photographers. WPC expresses his deep appreciation to WPC Gold sponsor ChromaLuxe, and finally, says “grazie mille”  to host country Italy, for the fantastic job done. We hope to see all of our 2021 winners in Rome next April for a special awards ceremony!


Top Ten 2021 1st to 10th place


1 Poland Szymon Swietochowski
2 Canada Louis-Philippe Provost
3 Canada Jacquie Matechuk
4 Greece Julia Anna Gospodarou
5 Slovakia Daniel Zachar
6 Brazil Diego Oliveira
7 Brazil Luciano Honorato
8 New Zeland Amber Griffin
9 Russia Alexander Khokhlov
10 Australia Steve Scalone


1 Portugal Diamantino Jesus
2 Australia Forough Yavari
3 Chile Ignacio Segura
4 France Nicolas Boutruche
5 Russia Igor Sakharov
6 Spain Antonio Peinado Munoz
7 Italy Patrizia Burra
8 Poland Szymon Swietochowski
9 Finland Suvi Sievila
10 Brazil Luciano Honorato


1 USA Hendro Soetrisno
2 Australia Joshua Holko
3 Phillipines Sherwin Magsino
4 Finland Risto Raunio
5 Costa Rica Luis Solano Pochet
6 UK Tracey Lund
7 Australia Scott Portelli
8 Mexico Carlos Carrillo
9 Costa Rica Jose David Altamirano
10 Argentina Luciano Andres Richino


1 Finland Antti Karppinen
2 USA Erich Caparas
3 Australia Forough Yavari
4 Norway Natalia Pipkina
5 Russia Aleksey Malikov
6 Canada Ammara Sadiq
7 France Stephane Audran
8 Venezuela Ram Martinez
9 Canada Stephanie Lachance
9 New Zealand Richard Wood


1 Guatemala Anyelo Garcia
2 Phillipines Donell Gumiran
3 Spain Alfonso Novo
4 Austria Klaudia Ratzinger
5 Greece Anna Pantelia
6 Slovakia Peter Svoboda
7 Australia Andy Cheung
8 Costa Rica Oscar Herrera
9 New Zeland Justin Aitken
9 Mexico Sergio Ivan Caro Torres


1 Spain Jonathan Hevia
2 Brazil Daniel Ribeiro
3 Russia Igor Bulgak
4 UK Chris Chambers
5 Brazil Sam Sacramento
6 Greece John Makris
7 China Jie Hu
8 Japan Shinichi Shimomiya
9 Argentina Maxi Oviedo
10 Spain Victor Lax

error: Content is protected by Copyright !! Copyright by respective Photographer!!!